sur in english

Mancomunidad de Municipios de la Costa del Sol


The Association of Municipalities of the Western Costa del Sol (or Mancomunidad de Municipios de la Costa del Sol Occidental in Spanish) was set up on a voluntary basis by the municipalities of Benahavís, Benalmádena, Casares, Estepona, Fuengirola, Istán, Manilva, Marbella, Mijas, Ojén and Torremolinos more than 35 years ago for the joint management of a series of basic services. Some of the most important among these include the solid urban waste collection service (rubbish) and the water management service, both in terms of supply (drinking water) and sanitation (treatment of waste water).

The Association of Municipalities is comprised of two representatives from each municipality, one of whom is the mayor. Therefore, the Management Committee of the Association consists of the eleven municipal mayors from the region and eleven representatives chosen by the various local councils.

The method for selecting the delegates in the Association of Municipalities depends directly on the results from the municipal elections. Hence, the representatives and other members of this supramunicipal body are renewed every four years.

For the current 2007-2011 term of office, the government of the Association of Municipalities is formed by PP (Popular Party). The position of President is currently held by Margarita del Cid Muñoz.

You are here  : Home History